DISSECTING THE STRESSED HEADS… !!! THE ‘MAI BOHOT PARESHAN HOON SYNDROME’

So I am following the HOP philosophy these days as I juggle the stress of working on multiple ventures. When I was HOPPING today, I realized that….wait a minute..HOP philosophy?…Don’t you know it?………  Come on !!………   Everybody is going gaga over it these days..

And yes by everybody I mean me and my fictional readers of course..!! ….. Oh, Well since only a few may be unaware, let me just highlight here that HOP is what I figured out in one of my last posts… However I must warn the readers that it may be the most boring, ridiculous and stupidomax read but if you really want to, here is the link.

So if anyone took the better decision to ignore the link; in just one line, HOP is a behavioral technique which fosters the ability to independently reduce the stress levels by activating Hope, Optimism and Positivism within.

Let me now begin the post again by mentioning that I am really high on HOP and preach it wherever possible. But since I assume that I am human, currently I can say that the stress is shooting up and therefore sometimes the transformation from Captain America to The Hulk does happen….can’t deny that…!! But do not worry; as I write, I can say the Hulk is gradually getting calmer.

I have realized, the last few blogs have been very smiling and saintly as if I am a motivational guru wearing a white saree with chandan on my forehead and both my palms in the trademark ‘aashirwaad’ position. So this post, I am going to make you cry, moody, angry and sad!!….

KIDDING…. ! The last sentence needs a few more words…!!! Again, This post, I am going to list down the things that make you cry, moody, angry and sad when you are already stressed….hopefully with a dash of sarcasm!! So here it goes….

Remember the time when you were preoccupied with your own stress and the following happens:

1. WEDDING AND SOCIAL GATHERINGS

Imagine an exam stress; and the tension of either the preparation or results is so astronomical that one may experience severe mood swings. Then in all that, one is forced or emotionally blackmailed to leave the comfort of their home and pajamas to attend, what the Indians refer to as ‘function me jana hai’ (have to attend a function). And then the meet and greet starts…Now if you are stressed, the only hope of relief could be through a good conversation with say someone close to Salman Khan and sorts but all one gets is Uncle Aunty and the kids. Personally, I am not a fan of small talk but most of the time I just follow the social protocol and carry on with the highly interesting conversations (duh!) which is dominated by such dialogues

What do you do?

Hypocrite answer – I am working as the blah with blah organization.

Non Verbal Real Answer out of stress – Why do you care? We aren’t meeting again.

How is the weather where you come from?

Hypocrite answer – Oh its nice sunny/ cool/ rainy. How is it where you come from?

Non Verbal Real Answer out of stress – The annual weather changes are the same everywhere. Clearly there is nothing better to talk.

We should plan up to meet some time!

Hypocrite Answer– Absolutely can’t wait to see you again.

Non Verbal Real Answer out of stress – Bye!

(I am sure there must be more… share if you have got some!)

Socializing with friends can still be a little better provided you actually care about the people involved… honest eh !! But beware, the mood swings may become hopelessly visible to those who care and to those you care for.

2. THE SYMPATHY CARD

This can be a real Hulk-Converter. When one is already stressed and then a person brushes off his/ her comforting skills on you; but, instead of relieving your tension, you feel like pasting a ‘Do not talk’ sign on his mouth. For example, in such cases, one may have come across these soothing utterances (well!)….

‘Oh no!… what has happened…this is so bad..isn’t?’

(Really..you want to question the terrible state of my stress….Of course it’s bad… Why else would I point the gun at you!)

‘What are you saying…Tell me in detail!’

(Yes, now is the best time for a monologue. Board with me on the time machine…lets relive the stressful past together!)

‘How are you feeling?..I know i was so depressed when i had a similar time..I wanted to kill myself.’

(So you are suggesting me to shoot up the levels of depression to the point I commit suicide…. Hmm you should have been a counselor.)

‘I knew this wasn’t the right way. Don’t worry. Try something else. Every dog has its day.’

(Thank you for reminding me that I was wrong and sorry for biting your leg!  woof woof!)

3. NO FOOD

Stress eating is so common. It is scientifically proven by many that food relieves stress but then there are times when the fridge and cabinets have nothing more than milk, dal or biscuits and all you want are some chocolates, pizzas and ice creams!!!! Yes, the waist line is increasing but when has anyone come across a size zero hulk!

4. NO ALCOHOL

Stress drinking is not a secret either. Not much of a drinker myself and like I mentioned earlier, I go hulk in stress…but I am aware of some who belly up in anxiety! However, a drink at every time of stress isn’t always possible…! For example, when you come home late after a hard day and open the bar cabinet, an empty bottle may feel like the end of the world. Even worse; one may start crying, if at that point, somebody offers you a ‘shikanji’ (lemonade), ‘jaljeera’ or the most healthy and preposterous …a glass of milk can be enough to shoot your guilt pangs through the roof. Why is it so difficult for others to comprehend that too much stress requires alcohol to feel all the more unruly, stroppy, nauseous and unpleasant. People eh!!

5. NO INTERNET/ NO BATTERY

One has finally the time to relax a bit during stressful times and how does the majority do that?…Watch movies, videos, play games, music….. basically things which are dependent on chargers and batteries..!! However, these poor non living things do not have the power to understand human emotions and thus sometimes, unfortunately, if these do not work, the phones, laptops, remotes..all have to hit the edge of the wall or floor!! This hard-hitting event (pun intended) is followed by the guilt which takes over in just a few seconds and if the event has caused an expensive model to turn into a cheap corpse….Well, then it’s the time to disco with more tears and sadness!! (:D)

6. LOW SELF MAINTENANCE

The words ‘kilos’, ‘pimples’, ‘hair everywhere but head’, ‘tears and stains’, ‘grey’, ‘chipped nails’ etc become so regular during stressful periods. Looking after self is nowhere a priority but instead everyday becomes a contest to look more horrendous than the day before. And when one is looking like a monster, you really don’t want to meet anyone…especially if it’s a crush!! However, this is the best time to scare those who smother you with their affection and presence. Except always, it so happens that the people you pictured a romantic musical with are the ones at the door when you look like Jabba the Hutt!!

But mostly; during these times, one really hopes to have a ‘Post Stress Makeover Order’. Till that time…Damn you Mirrors!!!

7. MISSING OUT

A friend’s birthday, school reunion, concerts, dates or meeting family…. Stress and tension builds up so much that you forget or ignore these important life events. Missing out on these can take the stress levels to another high. This usually can become the breaking point and if one realizes the loss of these life events, take it as a wake up alarm to really introspect and HOP HOP HOP.

Of course later, there may be times when you sit in a group discussing the event you missed. All you would be contributing then would be some of ‘ Ah! I missed it……. Oh okay…..  Really… Oh wow….’ and some more wows and okay..!! Whereas inside you are basically just sulking and cursing everyone.

If one processes all such stressors carefully, it may be possible to realize that the thing which is causing us so much anxiety is within and if we really think back for a minute during the testing times, we can turn the situation around. As the way we think and the way we feel are closely related. If the situation isn’t in our hands…well, the least we can do for ourselves is to switch on our HOP to full power until you have your favorable situation.

It is ultimately us who can metamorphose a situation from bad to slightly better to even better to great. Whining and self pity will take the anxiety nowhere but instead make us unpleasant for everyone around….and more importantly, we like ourselves the most when are happy and content, don’t we!

So, there is nothing wrong in being stressed and anxious…it’s just human and everybody has these phases. But no matter how cliche this may sound now, I strongly believe it eventually does get better… for everyone! Till then, don’t mess up your head…focus on the better things, perhaps practice the 5Hs …or just chill out!!!(yes I know you don’t know the 5 Hs– the link here )

Did I just put on the aashirwad mode again…! Let me know 😀

http://www.blogadda.com/rate.php?blgid=54738

3 thoughts on “DISSECTING THE STRESSED HEADS… !!! THE ‘MAI BOHOT PARESHAN HOON SYNDROME’

Leave a Reply

